Day 74: 5 days left

5 days left

Where did the time go?!?!?

Today was much better than yesterday, though it didn’t start out that way.

For some reason, I forgot that it was Tuesday (i.e. the day of our weekly lab meeting).

I had planned to sleep in and the pick up my prescription on the way to work. I wasn’t worried about being there early because I was there so late yesterday.

Then, about 9:15 while I was brushing my teeth, it hit me. I have a lab meeting at 10. I quickly did the math in my head. If I get dressed and out the door by 9:30, walk/jog over to the Apotheke instead of taking the bus, pick up my meds, and then catch the bus there to work, which takes 20 minutes, I might make it in time.

So began this crazy procedure.

I got to work at 9:58. Boo ya.

Had a lab meeting, which was pretty sparse considering everyone is on vacation right now. I swear, the entire country just goes on vacation at once.

Got to use a new machine today- the nanodrop! It measures concentrations in teensy tiny amounts of solutions. Based off of those measurements, I adjusted some calculations and re-ran the gel extract PCR. Got some bands! WOO HOO.

I left work early to go and abmelden. This is deregistering with the German government, so they know they aren’t responsible for you anymore. So I officially don’t live in Germany anymore. 😦

I then canceled by BahnCard 25. So I am no longer an awesome German train traveler. 😦

I then went to Kaufland to buy some stuff for gifts for my lab. I came up with, what I think, is a good idea for a lab gift. A gift basket! I bought a little basket, some wine, chocolate, trail mix, cookies, and flowers. I topped it off with some ribbon and some of that crafty straw (I can’t for the life of me remember the name of it! I think it starts with an r maybe??)

DSC_0001 DSC_0002 I think it looks pretty good! 🙂

I am also going to write a letter to Hartwig and Eli to leave on their desks.

I then met Katelyn for coffee and some shopping. 🙂

Then I came home, put together my gift basket and worked on some packing etc. *Bleh*

Tschus!

Leave a Reply

